Weekly Readings – Week 6

This week I’ve read Cascade Effects, a small article by Brian Thomas.

The article Cascade Effects is about how Thomas embraced CSS and how its made his life and job  easier. He starts the article by confessing that he has actually avoid CSS for as long as he can before he started using it. This avoidance got me thinking.

The world wide web is one of the fastest moving technologies there is. So how can you avoid a new advancement as a web developer? I’ve come across this a few times now and it totally baffles me. If you want to stay current and if you want to stay on top of your game surely you should jump on new tech and learn it right away. Being stubborn is not going to benefit you, your client or the wider industry as a whole. Sometimes it takes people to make that push forward to convince everyone else to follow. Take a look at Apple for an example. They have removed the CD drive from most of their computers now. At first I thought this was a sly way to sell more iPods but then the more I thought about it the more it made sense. CD’s are a dying medium, they scratch easily and can’t carry that much data by today’s standards. New and better technologies are here and its about time we moved forward. Imagine if CSS was never embraced at all and we were all still using Netscape or IE2? So why do these developers hinder the development of the very industry they live in? It human nature to fear something new but we shouldn’t. Fire was new once and so was the wheel, think about where we would be if we did take on those ideas. I love new technologies in any form and I am going to make a commitment to myself right now, if a new tech comes along, I’m going to use it right away and help others to benefit from it.

I’m not sure I know the answer why developers put off using new tech but I certainly interested in finding out. Do you know why they do? What do you think of new tech? Should we use it right away and pioneer it or do we let others few trial it for us first and jump on when its established? Let me know what you think in the comment section.

Leave a Reply

