Weekly Reflection – Week 6

This week was all about Cascading Style Sheets or CSS as its more commonly known. CSS is a way you can style certain properties within HTML code. It was developed out of the concern that HTML had issues with determining the look and feel of a page. CSS is there to give you better control over the visual presentation of HTML constructed web pages.

Like many things on my course so far, this is the first time I’ve really worked with CSS. On first impression I would have to say I liked it. I liked it a lot! Its a great way tidying up your code and its gives you so much control over how your web page looks. Most of the things you can do in CSS you can do in HTML but the method is much more fluid in CSS and it speeds up the whole process. I like the idea of being able to get all my content in a page and then make some adjustments to the CSS code and change the whole look of the page in a few short lines of code. In theory, I could be wrong here and I am feel free to correct me in the comment section but I’m sure you could have two pages filled with identical content and all the same HTML but just two different CSS pages that would make them look totally different. If that true, that’s pretty amazing really because it allows you to edit an entire page after its been created using a few lines of CSS. CSS is defiantly an interesting new thing for me.

I actually really enjoyed the coding of CSS. I must have been born to be a web designer because I find all this stuff strangely therapeutic. Is that weird? I’m not sure. Anyway, its something I defiantly want to expand my knowledge in. I think it could become a very powerful tool set to have once I master it.

Have you learnt about CSS too? What did you think? Have you found it therapeutic or am I just a weirdo? Am I just a weirdo in general? Let me know in the comments!

Leave a Reply

