Popping the WordPress Cherry

So this is my first WordPress blog. I hope this works!

This is my first real experience with WordPress. I’ve heard of it before but never used it so im a total novice. I’m a Web Systems Development student studying at Edge Hill University and I’ve been asked to keep this blog as a way of tracking my development. It’s to help me identify my weaknesses and build on them. That’s the introduction out of the way…

So what do I know about WordPress? Not a lot

What do I know about HTML? Not a lot

What do I know about CSS? Not a lot

Ok so I’ve identified a few weaknesses there..! One thing I like about WordPress is that its full of helpful tutorials and explanations. I’m going to give this a link a read and see what I can pick up http://learn.wordpress.com/

I like the customisation options on WordPress. you can really tailor to blog to look how you want. I wanted a theme that stood out and look good but nothing really caught my eye. Well I say nothing but some did, they all had this symbol next to them ‘$’… yeah I’ll give them a miss. Think I’ll learn how to create a theme then! I did find “100 Excellent Free WordPress Themes” on Smashing Magazine. Heres the link if you want to look yourself and if any other students are reading this it might help you out http://wp.smashingmagazine.com/2008/01/08/100-excellent-free-high-quality-wordpress-themes/. Not too sure on how to install them yet but this is all part of the growth process! I’m going to find out how and tell you about it in my next post.

I’ve discovered this thing called a Blavatar. It’s meant to be a cross between the words Blog and Avatar. Take a look for yourself, I’m not even making it up, that’s actually what they are called http://en.support.wordpress.com/avatars/blavatars/. I’ve set mine as a picture of the earth with what looks like atoms shooting round it. Web, world wide, transfer of information, see my logic? Course you do! Its genius that’s what it is!

I’ve gone and installed WordPress on my iPhone. Hopefully this will make it eaiser to add things on the go and while they are fresh in my mind

WordPress on my iPhone! Some of you may notice Sonic the Hedgehog and Streets of Rage apps. I’m not a nerd, I’m a video game enthusiast

Oh I might as well point out that im not entirely sure how long a blog post is meant to be so if I’ve waffled on I do apologise. Well I don’t really because you chose to read it didn’t you? 😀

Tagged

Leave a Reply

